Holy Trinity Church, Messingham

Stained Glass

Holy Trinity church contains a fascinating mix of highly regarded Medieval, Victorian and more recent stained glass. The collection of medieval stained glass is widely considered to be of significant importance.

A key feature of the early 19th Century restoration of Holy Trinity  was the installation of an extensive collection of medieval stained glass acquired from various local churches and others much further afield by Rev Vincent H Bayley.

Various views have been expressed on the way in which this glass was ‘acquired’. One of our future intentions is to further explore what was happening in the ‘donor’ churches at this time to hopefully increase understanding of the stories behind the transfer of the glass.

Numerous visitors have been welcomed over the years to explore and photograph the glass. We welcome visits from individuals and groups who wish to find out more. Copies of reports on the glass can be made available for both general interest and research.

Recent work with Messingham primary school and local children's groups has seen our young 'glass explorers' intrigued by the imagery which they then used as a stimulus for a range of artwork, including designing and making 'stained glass windows'. Such groups are always welcome to visit and use curriculum activities we have developed.

The following quotations are taken from an article written by by Penny Hebgin-Barnes in’ The Journal of Stained Glass Vol X1X No2 1991-93)

“The church was largely rebuilt in 1818 and contains one of the most extensive collections of stained glass to be found in the county of Lincolnshire. The glass ranges in date from the late thirteenth to the nineteenth century and is displayed in the east window of the chancel and in ten other windows. A little of it originated in Messingham church but the majority was removed from a number of churches in Lincolnshire and other counties. It was installed in 1820 by its collector Henry Bayley, then vicar of Messingham, assisted by several helpers, including EJ Wilson of Lincoln,  the architect of the 1818 restoration. The east window was restored and partially rearranged in 1969 by Dennis King of Norwich, with the aid of a grant from the Pilgrim Trust.”

 “The church and its glass have been the subject of two articles published in 1927 and 1931 but neither is illustrated and both are confined to a brief resume of the provenance of various pieces derived from a memorandum written in the parish register by William Brockenhurst Stonehouse, who was Bayleys curate and one of his assistants in the work of glazing the church.”

Extensive  illustrated documentation is available in The Journal of Stained Glass Vol X1X No2 1991-93) – article by Penny Hebgin-Barnes

Acting on the advice of Brian Foxley RIBA AABC, Jonathan and Ruth Cooke were commissioned by the PCC in early 2015 to produce a detailed condition report of all the glass in the church to ascertain its current condition and restoration needs. The report includes inputs sought from Dr David Martlew and Tom Kupper of Lincoln Cathedral glazing workshop. Current restoration needs were identified. Cooke and Cooke noted, “Messingham contains more medieval stained glass than almost any other Lincolnshire parish church and its significance is attested by the large number of publications in which the collection has been noted, including several individual articles devoted to the subject. Forty five years after it was last conserved, it deserves further attention”.

Stained Glass Gallery

East end window

East end window
A unique collection of medieval stained glass brought together by Rev H V Bayley

Galloping horse

Galloping horse
Galloping horse surrounded by various fragments

DSCF6288.JPG

DSCF6288.JPG

Sproule window

Sproule window
This window was added in ?? in memory of Rev Thomas patterson Sproule, vicar of Messingham 18?? - 18??

Angels bearing shields

Angels bearing shields
Angels bearing shields with Trinity emblems

Three Fish Emblem

Three Fish Emblem
The three fish emblem from the Sproule window provided the inspiration for development of our logo

©2020 Holy Trinity Church, Messingham.
All Rights Reserved